EXPERIENCE
109.jpg
121.jpg
36.jpg
CIMG3917.jpg
Daffodils in snow.jpg
Galley 1.jpg
IPM from Ken 009.jpg
P1060321-JonesFalls2012-LMyers.jpg
P1160433-NarrowsLocks-LMyers.jpg
Schur-Jones Falls.jpg
SkateTheLakePortland.jpg
davis-lock-1130644.jpg
dog sled race.jpg
from Portland Beach 4.jpg
kayaks-locks.jpg
Photo: The Old Stone Mill National Historic Site by Ken Watson  Photo: The Old Stone Mill National Historic Site by Ken Watson 

Must See Museums and National Historic Sites

Immerse yourself in the history of Rideau Lakes and learn more about local heritage through these intriguing historic sites!

Lockmaster's House Museum at Chaffey’s Lock  

Chaffeys Lockmaster House Museum 1724 Chaffeys Lock Road

Explore an authentic lockmaster’s house on the Rideau Canal! The Lockmaster’s House Museum is operated by the Chaffey’s Lock and Area Heritage Society in the building that served as home to lockmasters and their families from 1844 until 1967. Fun fact: during its heyday, the house was the social centre of Chaffey's - it had the only phone in the village and even housed the local post office! The Museum opened in 1982, and has featured many different exhibits, telling local stories through research and artifacts. Visitors may also watch short videos highlighting the area’s past and can purchase items from the small gift shop. The Museum is open from 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. daily, from late June until early September.  Admission is free, and donations are gratefully accepted.

 

The Old Stone Mill at Delta  

Mill Historic Site Old Stone Mill Sign with arrow Exterior Delta November 2021 Full Permissions Marie White

This majestic stone building is the only surviving pre-1812 stone grist mill in Ontario and is a National Historic Site of Canada! Enjoy a guided tour of the Mill or explore the space on your own. Marvel at the impressive 200 year-old millstones! Still operable, the on-site miller grinds heritage wheat into flour on Saturdays throughout the summer. The Blacksmith Shop recently opened, showcasing a newly refurbished exhibit space curated to tell the story of blacksmithing at the Mill. The Old Stone Mill is open on Weekends from Victoria Day Weekend through to June 30 and then daily from July 1 to Labour Day weekend (Monday) from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Free admission; donations welcome! See the latest updates on the Facebook page.

 

Red Brick School at Elgin 

 Red Brick School permission from Diane Haskins photographer

This historic schoolhouse is like a step back in time! Active from 1887 to 1964, it has many character defining elements that express the heritage of the red brick gem. The Elgin & Area Heritage Society is celebrating 20 years this summer with many activities and new exhibits featured at the school. Be sure to view the WWI Elgin Platoon exhibit, as well as new wall displays, too! The school is open on occasion, but the gardens, benches and architecture can be enjoyed year-round. Look for yellow brick quoins above the windows, three tall multi-paned windows on the north façade, stone window sills, wood frame dormers about the doors and an enchanting roof line and brick gables above the windows – with a stone label under the central one, inscribed, “school”. A truly unique learning atmosphere! Keep an eye on the Facebook page for open dates and events.

 

Rideau District Museum

Rideau_District_Museum_Facebook_Page.jpegRideau District Museum Facebook Page

This regional museum located in the village of Westport provides an inside perspective on the early history of Rideau Lakes through artifacts, imagery, and stories. The most amazing artifact in the collection is the Statue of Justice 1844, "Sally Grant”. She stands eleven feet tall and was carved in 1844 from a single white cedar tree! Open in June—Thursday through Saturday 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., and Sundays 1 p.m. to 4:30 p.m., then daily from July to Labour Day. See complete hours here.

Dig into local heritage and unravel the history of Rideau Lakes by visiting museums and national historic sites this season!

 

Read 829 times

Rideau Lakes Township Logo

1439 County Road 8, Delta, ON K0E 1G0

613-928-2251 or 1-800-928-2250

Fax: 613-928-3097

Email: