Daffodils in snow.jpg
Galley 1.jpg
IPM from Ken 009.jpg
Schur-Jones Falls.jpg
dog sled race.jpg
from Portland Beach 4.jpg

D.O. Delta

A vibrant community rich with heritage and natural amenities, Delta has a picturesque landscape located in the centre of the Frontenac Arch Biosphere, between two pristine lakes. This scattered farming settlement was initially known as “Stevenstown” named after Settler, Elder Abel Stevens, a United Empire Loyalist and Baptist Minister, who brought a number of pioneer families from Vermont beginning in 1794. 

Delta once prospered as a farming and industrial village, which also supported pioneer trades, general stores, smiths, hotels, churches, carriage works, a distillery, foundry, cheese factory, tannery, newspaper and even a hospital. Lower Beverley Lake Park offers family camping, rental cottages, a beach and a boat launch, with a great playground for children as well as the village ball diamond. Delta is equipped with a branch of the Rideau Lakes Public Library offering washrooms and free wifi, a gas station and a recreation centre (ice rink, tennis court and sports facility). Enjoy delightful self-guided walking tours of the village, cycling routes through the scenic countryside and quality paddling on both Upper and Lower Beverley Lakes.

Pick up your Picnic




Outdoor Activity


Picnic Areas

  • Delta and Area Recreation Centre (D.A.R.S. Park)
  • Lower Beverley Lake Park
  • Russell Park
  • Stevens Park
  • Stone Mills Park
  • New! Delta Waterfront Park, in the main hub of the community featuring an accessible ramp to meander down to the waterfront and access stabilized docking, a kayak launch, and an Amphitheatre. Boaters will once again be able to travel up the Delta Creek, dock their boats and visit the local businesses, community services, and heritage destinations in Delta.

Points of Interest

  • Old Stone Mill - The main attraction in Delta is the Old Stone Mill, built in 1810, now a museum and a designated National Historic Site of Canada. Drawing visitors from all over the world, this prized mill site provided the nucleus for a flourishing agricultural and industrial community throughout the 19th and early 20th century. Completely renovated, working millstones were installed for its 200th anniversary in 2010. It is open daily from Victoria Day weekend to Labour Day (check the website at deltamill.org to confirm) and during events, where it continues to grind and sell locally grown heritage Red Fife wheat, offer interpretation, exhibits and employs local students to conduct guided tours. 
  • William Bell House (1860) – 60 King Street – View the exterior. Built for Irish-born merchant William Bell, this unique and historical Georgian home boats beautiful gardens.
  • Denaut Mansion (1849) – 5 Mathew Street – View the exterior. Walter Denaut was a prosperous and widely-renowned mill owner, postmaster, general merchant and politician. Befitting his wealth and status, he built this impressive 2 storey mansion of rough-masoned stone.
  • Former St. Paul’s Anglican Church, now a Community Centre (1811) – 77 King Street - Legend has it that a bell, donated by a generous benefactor to call the devoted to worship was carried away by thieves. But the bell clanged its whereabouts to those in hot pursuit and it was retrieved, slightly cracked by this sinful experience. Hence it is off-key for eternity.
  • Deltawood Farm (nearby) Trail Riding / Equestrian 
  • DeltaTop Farm (nearby) Organic Gourmet Mushrooms
  • The Rideau Lakes Local History Centre is located at 18 King St. beside the Library Branch and Firehall in Delta. The Centre is open most Thursday afternoons from 1-4 pm or by appointment.
  • Ontario Heritage Trust Plaque: Dr. Lorne Pierce - A provincial plaque located on the grounds of the United Church in Delta commemorates Dr. Lorne Pierce, a prolific writer and ardent promotor of Canadian literature. Born and brought up in Delta, Dr. Pierce was editor of the Ryerson Press between 1920 and 1960. He established several university scholarships and an excellent collection of Canadian literature at Queen’s University.
  • Ontario Heritage Trust Plaque (nearby in Phillipsville): James Philips - A provincial plaque in Philipsville beside County Road 42 commemorates James Philips, an early store and tavern owner in this community. He became active in local politics, rose to prominence as a Reformer in the 1830s and became embroiled in the violence and rebellion in Upper Canada during 1837. James Philips was killed in the Battle of the Windmill in 1838.
 More points of interest can be found on the Heritage Walking Tour of Delta: http://www.deltamill.org/deltatour.html

Annual Events

  • Bach on the Beverley - Music Festival held in August at St. Paul's Community Centre in Delta
  • Delta Maple Syrup Festival (since 1967) - In early April, celebrates that sweet local nectar, maple syrup.
  • Delta Fair – Established in (1830), this traditional agricultural fair is one of Canada's oldest. Typically held at the end of July, the event has expanded to include a midway and activities for the whole family. As a social hub and homecoming for all ages, its agricultural roots are a mainstay with annual home craft judging, tractor pulls, horse pull and horse shows.
  • Delta Harvest Festival (since 2015) – On the last Saturday in September, this community event celebrates the harvest with an array of local produce, crafts and hot apple cider.

Details on the events page: https://www.rideaulakes.ca/live/public-information/calendar/community-calendar




Did you Know?

The evolving community of “Stevenstown” became known as “Stone Mills”, was later changed to “Beverley” and finally in 1856 with a touch of Greek revival, the village became officially known as “Delta” due to the land’s triangular shape.


Watch the Documentary

Learn about the Beverley Riots and a Death in Philipsville at rideaulakes.ca/documentaries 


Find out more at rideaulakes.ca/Delta or at https://www.deltaontario.com/

Read 447 times

Rideau Lakes Township Logo

1439 County Road 8, Delta, ON K0E 1G0

613-928-2251 or 1-800-928-2250

Fax: 613-928-3097