EXPERIENCE
109.jpg
121.jpg
36.jpg
CIMG3917.jpg
Daffodils in snow.jpg
Galley 1.jpg
IPM from Ken 009.jpg
P1060321-JonesFalls2012-LMyers.jpg
P1160433-NarrowsLocks-LMyers.jpg
Schur-Jones Falls.jpg
SkateTheLakePortland.jpg
davis-lock-1130644.jpg
dog sled race.jpg
from Portland Beach 4.jpg
kayaks-locks.jpg

Explore Elgin

Situated just off Highway 15, in the heart of corn country, Elgin offers many services for both the visitor and local residents. The local population is about 300 but, in the summer, Elgin serves as the hub for several thousand cottage residents. 

The land on which the community of Elgin grew was first settled in the very early 1800s by the Halladay family. For its first decades, it was called “Halladay’s Corners.” Even though the Rideau Canal was constructed some distance away, its development brought dozens of quarrymen and teamsters to a camp near Halladay’s Corners where they quarried thick strata of Cambrian sandstone. These ashlars were transported to Jones Falls for the construction of the great dam and locks, as well as the locks at Davis and Chaffey’s. In 1850 a post office was established, and the growing farming community was officially named after the Eighth Earl of Elgin, James Bruce, Governor General of Upper Canada, 1847–1854. Throughout the latter Summers Rd half of the 19th century, Elgin prospered to become the most prominent village in South Crosby Township. It was, and remains, a thriving service centre for farmers, commuters, summer residents and visitors to the surrounding lakes. The Elgin branch of the Rideau Lakes Public library offers public washrooms and free wifi. Be sure to see the Red Brick School and Heritage Park when in Elgin.

Pick up your Picnic

 

Shop

 

Outdoor Activity

 

Points of Interest

  • Elgin Bowling Lanes 
  • Red Brick School (1887) - Historical Exhibits commemorating the 20th Anniversary of the Elgin & Area Heriatge Society (EAHS) in 2023 
  • Ontario Heritage Trust Plaque: The Red Brick School in Elgin is a premier example of a late 19th century campaign by Egerton Ryerson to improve public education through the building of more stimulating environments for learning. 
  • Storyboards: Three pictorial storyboards located on the main street, “Historic Elgin”, The Artistry of Clifford Pennock”, and “The World of Clifford Pennock" illuminate the history of the village.
  • Rue Royale (nearby in Phillipsville) - Stone sculpture, Open on occasion or by appointment
  • Moon Valley Farms Apple Orchard (nearby in Crosby/seasonal) 
 
 

Picnic Areas

 

Stay

 

Annual Events

 

Did you Know?

The secret is in the stones...it was the magnificent sandstone found on Halladay’s farm that was selected to build nearby Lockstations along the Rideau Canal, resulting in the founding of Halladay’s Quarry, and present-day Elgin.

Tip: At the corner of Highway 15 and County Road 8, a rock cut can be found that characterizes the area’s sandstone.

Listen to the “Story of the Elgin Quarries podcast episode by Small Halls Stories on Spotify to hear about the secret in the stones.

 

Learn more at rideaulakes.ca/Elgin

Read 467 times

Rideau Lakes Township Logo

1439 County Road 8, Delta, ON K0E 1G0

613-928-2251 or 1-800-928-2250

Fax: 613-928-3097

Email: