EXPERIENCE
109.jpg
121.jpg
36.jpg
CIMG3917.jpg
Daffodils in snow.jpg
Galley 1.jpg
IPM from Ken 009.jpg
P1060321-JonesFalls2012-LMyers.jpg
P1160433-NarrowsLocks-LMyers.jpg
Schur-Jones Falls.jpg
SkateTheLakePortland.jpg
davis-lock-1130644.jpg
dog sled race.jpg
from Portland Beach 4.jpg
kayaks-locks.jpg

Journey to Jones Falls • Morton

Known as one of the prettiest lockstations along the Rideau Canal, Jones Falls is home to the “Great Stone Arch Dam,” featuring an impressive flight of 3 lower locks. This is the highest lift of any lockstation on the canal. The turning basin separates the 3 lower locks from the upper lock. Enjoy the sprawling greenspace and outdoor picnic areas, visit the blacksmith shop or explore Sweeney House and get a sense of life in the 1800s.

Nearby Morton was at one time called “Whitefish Falls” until George Morton purchased the water rights and the adjacent land in 1851. He registered a plan for a model village in 1857 and by 1861, had built saw-, grist- and plaster-mills, powered by Whitefish Falls. A garrison fort protected travellers and traders, smiths and families from feared Yankee invaders bent on Manifest Destiny. A warehouse beside Morton Bay transshipped Morton’s wealth down the Rideau while steamboats brought produce and travellers up Whitefish (Morton) Creek from Delta and Lyndhurst. Mr. Morton even added a farm and cheddar cheese factory to his model community. But when the managers of the Rideau Canal needed water for locks, Morton’s model mills sat idle. After a couple decades of disappointment, Morton had to sell off his economic interests. Now, instead of rumbling mills, Morton radiates wonderful flat-water routes for canoe and kayak in four cardinal directions.

 

Pick up your Picnic

 

Shop

 

Outdoor Activity

 

Points of Interest

  • Morton General Store – 702 Main Street (Hwy 15) -Also surviving is George Morton’s General Store, the oldest of its type in the Township, serving the neighbourhood until recently from the time of its construction in 1855.
  • The Amos Judd House – 12 Queen Street, Morton - was also built in 1855, and occupied and later owned by Amos Judd, agent for Morton’s many business interests.
  • The James Manuel House – 7 Park Street (front on Hwy 15) - built in 1858, is very similar in design to the Judd house, with the same distinctive wide gable. Its brick cladding was later covered with stucco.
  • Hotel Kenney Rideau – Jones Falls – The original Hotel Kenney at Jones Falls was built in 1849 by Bernard O’Neal. Thomas Kenney built the present hotel in 1888 after his first inn burnt. With balconies and open railings, its character is reminiscent of many turn-of-the-century resorts.
  • Heritage Plaque: Lieutenant- Colonel John By, Royal Engineer

    The life of Col. John By (1779 – 1836) and his work in Canada is commemorated with a provincial plaque located near the remarkable locks at Jones Falls on County Road 11. Between 1802 and 1811, Col. By helped engineer fortifications at Quebec and small canals on the St. Lawrence. The British military recognized Col. By’s genius and asked him to return to British North America to supervise the construction of the Rideau Canal between 1826 and 1832.

 

Picnic Areas

 

Stay

 

Did you Know?

Morton’s brick schoolhouse – 24 Pearl Street - built in 1853, was designed to incorporate the most current of educational philosophy and hexagonal design. Used as a school until 1900, then as a residence, “The Pimple” survives as one of the most unique buildings in our Township.

 

Fun Fact

On the Redpath Trail, near the dam at Jones Falls, is the northernmost stand of pitch pines in North America.

 

Find out more at rideaulakes.ca/Morton or rideaulakes.ca/JonesFalls

Read 79 times
More in this category: « Explore Elgin Navigate to Newboro »

Rideau Lakes Township Logo

1439 County Road 8, Delta, ON K0E 1G0

613-928-2251 or 1-800-928-2250

Fax: 613-928-3097

Email: