The History of Chaffey's Lock
Samuel Chaffey, descendant of a family of woolen manufacturers from Somerset, England, came to Canada with several relatives in 1816. In 1820, he established a successful milling business at the outlet of Indian Lake where the water fell 13 feet (4 m.) in a river leading to Opinicon Lake. By 1829 when Sam Chaffey died of swamp fever (malaria), his milling complex consisted of grist, carding and lumber mills and a distillery, serving an evolving farming hinterland. The construction of the Rideau Canal necessitated the demolition of Chaffey’s mills to make way for the building of the lock and dam. Colonel By purchased the mills from Chaffey’s widow, Mary Ann and his brother, Benjamin. The contracted work was done by John G. Haggart and completed in 1831, and a maze of swamps was transformed into a navigable and picturesque Newboro Lake. Today, Chaffeys Lock is a thriving cottage and tourist community centred with its lock station and its famous resorts that attract tourists from around the world.
Pamphlet: Heritage Map of the Township of Rideau Lakes